- NATIONAL TRUST PROPERTY
- THE LIME KILNS
- GERTRUDE JEKYLL GARDEN
Sited atop the volcanic mound known as Beblowe
Craig, Lindisfarne Castle is one of the most distinct and
picturesque features of the Island and can be seen for
many miles around.
Following the dissolution of the monasteries by
Henry VIII, the Castle was built in the 1550's using
stones from the demolished Priory. In 1901, Edward Hudson
(founder of Country Life magazine) negotiated its purchase
from the Crown and in 1902 Sir Edwin Lutyens (the
well-known architect) began the conversion to create the
Edwardian country house you see today. The Walled Garden
(originally the Fort's vegetable garden but re-designed by
Gertrude Jekyll in 1911 as part of the
conversion) lies to the north of the castle some 500m
away. Her plans were recreated by the National Trust and
planted for the 2003 season.
OPENING TIMES: For the convenience of its many
customers, the National Trust produces schedule of varying
opening times based on the Island's tidal accessibility.
The Castle is also available for Weddings and Naming
Note: the castle closes in winter to enable annual
maintenance. During this period the Gertrude Jekyll
Garden and Lime Kilns remain open.
The castle and Garden are closed on Mondays (except
for Bank Holidays). Out of hours Castle tours can be
arranged, please contact the Castle for further
information - see contact details below.
The Property Manager
Lindisfarne Castle - Holy Island
Berwick-upon-Tweed - TD15 2SH
Telephone: 01289 389244